‘Knapweed in Gunnerside Gill’

‘Knapweed in Gunnerside Gill’ – Acrylic on paper – 47 x 47 cm

Now my exams have finished, I’ve got a bit more time to commit some ideas and sketches to full pieces (I also have time to do some commission work…). This piece came from a photograph I took last summer whilst out walking with the dog. I don’t often go walking in the Yorkshire Dales, I normally go to the Lake district or up to Scotland, however I fancied a change. Having passed Gunnerside on the mountain bike before, I wanted to get a chance to explore it better. The upper inlets to the gill are formed by the remnants or lead mining, the scree slopes are mostly exposed due to the toxicity of the remaining lead. However in between the scree slopes stands of Knapweed add colour. The lower part of gill is a small nature reserve, which is really peaceful and scenic.

Logan in Gunnerside Gill – 2010

One thought on “‘Knapweed in Gunnerside Gill’

Leave a Reply

